DIY Lavender Shampoo… of sorts

Standard

In my journey to find an alternative to chemical-laden products I have come across several simple recipes for hair and skin care. I hardly wash my hair, maybe every other day and I ration my products to save as much money as possible so when I ran out of shampoo and conditioner, I didn’t really want to go out and spend $7-$15 dollars a piece on a supposedly all natural, Eco-friendly shampoo or conditioner (I was an avid Aveeno fan).

So I started researching and came across a honey, olive oil, and lemon hair mask, i tried it before I went to work and skipped the shampooing step – that was a huge huge huge mistake. Since I was in a hurry, i threw it up in a ponytail and went on with my afternoon, but since I skipped that vital step i never got all the honey out and my hair was still extremely oily – someone asked if i had used a whole bottle of gel on my hair – it was bad. Needless to say I went home, borrowed some shampoo and washed it very thoroughly. The next morning it looked amazing, but in the end I still had to use bad-for-you shampoo.

Then I found all these claims about how baking soda worked wonders for your hair and skin, just as long as you dilute it properly. I bought a box and didn’t premix it first, i just kinda dumped it in my hair and rubbed it around a little – do not do that. One, it’s not very effective and two, my hair was really gross and dry. So I ditched that idea and just started taking a lot of baths adding Vitamin E oil and Jojoba Oil and sometimes Avocado Oil and a few drops of some essential oils so I would still smell pretty, but I wasn’t satisfied. So I went back to backing soda after actually reading recipes and now that I do it properly, I love it! It’s a real simple recipe that takes five minutes tops to do, which is good for me because I am always on the go.

You Will Need 1 1/2 Cup Water, 1 Tbsp Baking Soda, 2 Drops Essential Oil DIY Lavender Shampoo

You may need to tweak the recipe based on individual needs and how your hair produces it’s oils. Simply mix the baking soda and water together and add the essential oil, just two drops will do since they are highly concentrated, trust me. Apply liberally, you will feel it working it kinda suds a little, not like normal shampoo, but just enough to give you that clean feeling and rinse. You will smell amazing and your hair will look amazing. I did this before I had to go to work, so I used my blow dryer on low setting for my bangs since they have a mind of their own and then drove with my windows down, fluffing my hair, here and there.

2 thoughts on “DIY Lavender Shampoo… of sorts

  1. Pingback: DIY Henna Hair Dye | The Gypsy's Caravan

Leave a Reply

