Vitamin C Gives You Super Powers

Standard

vitamin c gives you super powers

Several weeks ago I was pretty sick and in my year and a half of working at Chili’s I have never called in to not work, but I couldn’t nor did I want to go to work that evening. So I curled up on my sofa and tried to find something decent on Netflix, I love documentaries so when I came across Food Matters I was thrilled. If you have not seen it, you should. It was so informative and I learned quite a bit, the big thing that stuck with me though was the constant insistence of Vitamin C mega doses. I began researching it and there were so many outrageous claims and backlashes that I didn’t know what to believe. I am not a skeptic, but I dont believe everything I read so I always spend hours looking at endless sources trying to find the middle ground and that is exactly what you have to do when it comes to Vitamin C the miracle supplement.

Several sources, including the documentary Food Matters, insist that it is a cure-all, common cold, herpes, scurvy, hepatitis, leukemia and most types of cancer. The list is endless and so are the counter arguments. I am a firm believer in mother nature’s all natural gifts, I believe she has given us all that we need to thrive in the world, but in today’s society it isn’t as simple as that. Vitamin C could be just what they say it is, but what I wanted to know is how much should I take for optimal health benefits and that’s where it got even more cloudier.

There were several sources that bashed the FDA for setting our recommended intake as adults at less than 100 mg., they insisted that was the bare minimum to function on and we should be consuming close to 13,000 mg. if not more. This was based on the fact that other mammals, like the overused 160 Ibs. goat produces the same amount to function.  What I soon began uncovering though was that they were using the extremes of the data. Yes, a goat may produce up to 13,ooo mg., but anywhere from 2,000 mg.  – 13,000 mg. See the difference? Some charts only recommended what the FDA quoted and other sources everywhere in between, which is where I found  a comfortable middle ground. This is the one that I referenced for my own personal use, but again it is up to you.

Age
Vitamin C RDA
Vitamin C UL
1-3 years 15 mg per day 400 mg per day
4-8 years 25 mg per day 650 mg per day
9-13 years 45 mg per day 1200 mg per day
14-18 years Females 65 mg per day
1800 mg per day
Males 75 mg per day
19 years and older Females 75 mg per day
2000 mg per day
Males 90 mg per day
Pregnant women 18 years and under 80 mg per day 1800 mg per day
19 years and older 85 mg per day 2000 mg per day
Breastfeeding women 18 years and under 115 mg per day 1800 mg per day
19 years and older 120 mg per day 2000 mg per day

(the chart lost it’s formatting after publishing, but you can view the formatted version here)

For easy reference I have compiled a list of what I found.

Vitamin C is great for collagen production, clean arteries, preventing cold symptoms from being worse, curbing growth of cancer cells,  oral intake is more effective than IV admission, protects from free radicals due to it’s anti-oxidant properties, ensures proper dilation of blood vessels to help fight blood pressure and high cholesterol, supports good tummy bacteria, antidepressant, removes heavy metals, allergies, asthma and diabetes.

Vitamin C overdose, if you will, consists of overactive bowel movements, such as diarrhea and flatulence along with some cramps since it increases the body’s ability to absorb Iron more effectively. I’ll take that. Also, it has been reported that your body can only absorb so much and the more you take the less you absorb.

Strawberries contain the highest amount of Vitamin C, but here are some other sources to increase your intake. Broccoli, brussel sprouts, cabbage, papaya, kiwi, mango, black currants, grapefruit, tomatoes, cantaloupe, watermelon, oranges and the exotic bell peppers like yellow, orange and red.

Lets Learn together, let me know what you found and what works best for you!

Articles I read:

http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=nutrient&dbid=109  (this is great source to see how much you are intaking based on your fruit consumption)

Leave a Reply

